Gandhi Peace Prize:
The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the government of India. As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods. The award carries Rs. 10 million in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation. It is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or sex.
First: Julius Nyerere (1st President of Tanzania) (1995)
Recent: Desmond Tutu (2007)

Bharat Ratna: 
India’s highest civilian award.
The award was established by the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad, on January 2, 1954. 
First: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Chakravarti Rajgopalachari, Sir CV Raman (All Tamilnadu) 
Recent: Lata Mangeshkar, Ustad Bismillah Khan

Padma Vibhushan: 
India’s 2nd highest civilian award.
The Padma Vibhushan is India's second highest civilian honour. It consists of a medal and a citation and is awarded by the President of India. It was established on January 2, 1954.
First: Dr. Satyendra Nath Bose and others 
Recent: Justice (Dr) A.S. Anand, P.N. Dhar, P.R.S. Oberoi, Asha Bhosle, Edmund Hillary, Ratan Tata, Pranab Mukherjee, Sachin Tendulkar.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award: 
The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is an annual award given by the Indian government for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema. It was instituted in 1969, the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke, considered the father of Indian cinema.
First: Devika Rani (Actress) in 1969 
Recent: Shyam Benegal (Director) in 2005

National Film Awards: 
The National Film Awards is the most prestigious film award ceremony in India, and the country's oldest award ceremony, alongside the Filmfare Awards. It was established in 1954 and has been run by the Indian government's Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973. 
First: Best Film: Swarn Kamal Award to Shyamchi Aai in Marathi in 1954
Recent: Best Film: Swarn Kamal Award to Pulijanmam in Malyalam
Best Actor: Rajat Kamal Award to Soumitra Chatterjee, Bengali
Best Actress: Rajat Kamal Award to Priyamani, Tamil

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna:
The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports. The words "Khel Ratna" literally translate to "Sports Gem" in Hindi. The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India. It carries a medal, a scroll of honour and a substantial cash component. As of 2004-05, when the award was last bestowed, the cash component stands at Rs. 500,000/-. The award was instituted in the year 1991-92.
First: Viswanathan Anand for Chess (1991-92) 
Recent: Manavjit Singh Sandhu for Shooting (2006-07)

Arjun Award: 
The Arjuna Awards were instituted in 1961 by the government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 300,000, a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.
Recent: Sourav Ghosal (Squash), Jayanta Talukdar (archery), K M Beenamol(athletics), Chetan Anand (badminton), P Harikrishna (chess), Anjum Chopra (cricket), Bijender Kumar (boxing), Vijay Kumar (shooting), Navneet Gautam (kabaddi), Geeta Rani (weightlifting), Geetika Jakhar (wrestling), Subhajit Saha (table tennis), Jyoti Sunita Kullu (women’s hockey) and Rohit Bhakar (badminton-deaf and dumb)

Dronacharya Award:
Dronacharya Award is an award presented by the government of India for excellence in sports coaching. The award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of Rs.300,000. The award was instituted in 1985.
Recent: In 2006 to R D Singh(Athletics)Chandra Lal (boxing) and Koneru Ashok(chess)

Param Vir Chakra: 
The PVC was established on 26 January 1950 (the date of India becoming a republic), by the President of India, with effect from 15 August 1947.
First: Maj. Som Nath Sharma in 1947
Recent: Capt. Vikram Batra in 1999.

Ashoka Chakra: 
It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for the "most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice" other than in the face of the enemy.

Comments (0)