Ramon Magsaysay Award

Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF), Newyork established the Award in May 1957, to honor Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in government, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

Ramon Magsaysay Award is often considered Asia's Nobel Prize.

The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958.

Presentation Ceremonies are held annually in Manila on 31 August, the birth anniversary of the late President.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) presents it.

The awards are given in six categories:
1. Government Service
2. Public Service
3. Community Leadership
4. Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
5. Peace and International Understanding
6. Emergent Leadership

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is given to persons - regardless of race, nationality, creed or gender - who address issues of human development in Asia with courage and creativity, and in doing so have made contributions which have transformed their societies for the better.

The Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership seeks to inspire young people to apply their talents and energies to selfless and innovative service in Asia; this award category was created in 2000 with support from a Ford Foundation grant, and honors greatness of spirit among men and women forty years old and below.

Two hundred sixty-seven individuals and sixteen organizations have been named Magsaysay awardees since 1958.

The first year winners were - 

1. Government Service - Chiang Mon Lin - Taiwanese
2. Public Service - Operation Brotherhood - Philippines
3. Community Leadership - Acharya Vinoba Bhave - Indian
4. Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts -
Robert Dick, Philippines and Mochtar Lubis, Indonesia
5. Peace and International Understanding - Mary Rutnam, Srilanka

Acharya Vinoba Bhave was the first Indian to win in 1958, in community leadership category.

48 indians have till now awarded the price.

2011 Magsaysay award winners from India Nileema Mishra and Harish Hande.

The other winners of the award for 2011 are: 

Filipino charity group Alternative Indigenous Development Foundation Inc. (AIDFI); 

Hasanain Juaini, who set up an Islamic school for girls in Indonesia;

Tri Mumpuni, Indonesia, who promoted micro hydropower technology;

Koul Panah, working to restore democracy in Cambodia.

Dr. Harish Hande, a U.S.-trained Indian engineer, was recognised for bringing solar lights to a country where half of the households have no power. The 44-year-old runs his own solar electric light company that has lit up over 1,20,000 households, to emerge as India's leading solar technology firm.

Ms. Neelima Mishra, a lender to the poorest in Maharashtra, was recognised for “her purpose-driven zeal to work tirelessly with villagers in Maharashtra...to address both their aspirations and their adversities through collective action and heightened confidence.”

Comments (0)